The Myth of Self-Esteem

image

I hear it all the time. And I’m sure you do too.

“You are BeYOUtiful.”

“Just be yourself. You do you…cuz haters gonna hate hate hate, but I’m just gonna shake shake shake it off.”

You’re welcome Taylor Swift fans;)

And I am not only seeing this in the world, but also in the Church. Slowly the Church has allowed these self-esteem messages to creep into the circle of conversations.

We love it don’t we? The warm. The fuzzy. The encouragement. The constant compliments that feed our pride.

But when we use these feel-good messages to cover the fact that we are broken, weak and utterly selfish, sinful people, we lose perspective on the beauty of the Cross and the sacrifice that Christ has made for our sins.

We act as if God needs us; that we have value in our successes; that we are beautiful already, but God “polishes us up a bit” as we walk with Him as Christians.

There is nothing that is good or beautiful in us. We are not beautiful or good because we make ourselves so, but because God is in us. In Psalm 16:2, one of my favorite verses states, “O Lord, apart from you I have no good thing.”Our worth and value lies not what we’ve done, but who He is.

So, both teenage gal and guy, you are not defined by your accomplishments, your failures, your physical appearance, your friendships, your skin color, your socioeconomic status. You are defined by the Creator who gave you worth through His loving and ultimate sacrifice.

Self-Esteem is a myth. Why? Because our worth is not found in ourselves, it is found in the beauty of our Father.

We are beautiful, accepted and redeemed because God called through the dark depths of our souls when we were utterly hopeless. Yes, rest in the truth that He loves and has redeemed you, but don’t forget His calling; His Great Comission for something more beautiful than yourself.

But I’m no poet (obviously). I can’t write out or even explain what this song, “What Grace is Mine” by Keith and Kristyn Getty encapsulates. Here, they say it better than I can:)

“What grace is mine that He who dwells in endless light
Called through the night to find my distant soul
And from his scars poured mercy that would plead for me
That I might live and in his name be known

So I will go wherever He is calling me
I lose my life to find my life in Him
I give my all to gain the hope that never dies
I bow my heart, take up my cross and follow Him”

 

2 thoughts on “The Myth of Self-Esteem

Leave a Reply

